Book release | Echoes of Darkness by Cheryl Campbell


Echoes of Darkness 

Book Two in the Echoes Trilogy By Cheryl Campbell 

Genre: science fiction > dystopian > military & action > LGBTQ

● ISBN (paperback): 978-0-9897608-6-7 / Price: $16.95 (USD)

● ASIN (ebook): 978-0-9897608-7-4 / Price: $9.95 (USD)

● Publisher: Sonar Press

● Page count: 384

● Publication date: October 5, 2020

MILITARISTIC SCI-FI SERIES BRINGS A POWERFUL & COMPLEX LGBTQ FEMALE LEAD INTO THE SPOTLIGHT 

In Echoes of War -- the first book in Cheryl Campbell’s “Echoes” trilogy, released to rave reviews in September 2019 -- readers were introduced to one of contemporary sci-fi’s most badass and nuanced protagonists: Dani, a scavenger living on the fringes of society in Maine in the year 2113. 

Following Dani through the unsettling discovery of her nearly-immortal alien heritage, the decision to risk her own well-being to save a human boy, and the beginning of a violent confrontation that could change the bleak future facing humankind, Echoes of War brought a powerful and complex LGBTQ new female lead into the spotlight, giving readers a new kind of leading lady to root for -- “Dani is the hero in all of us, while also being the scared person in all of us,” wrote Geeks of Doom in their review. “I loved her toughness and reluctant softness, and found myself empathizing with those who loved her, because I came to love her. I cannot wait for the next book!" 

In October 2020, the wait is over as Campbell releases Echoes of Darkness -- book #2 in the “Echoes” trilogy. A sequel that works as a standalone novel, Echoes of Darkness picks up where book #1 left off. 

A fast-paced, militaristic sci-fi thriller centered on a complex female protagonist and set in war torn but still recognizable New England, ‘Echoes of Darkness’ is the second instalment in author Cheryl Campbell’s critically acclaimed “Echoes” trilogy -- a must-read for fans of Martha Wells’ The Murderbot Diaries and Robert D.

Armstrong’s World Apart series. The decades-long conflict with the Wardens, the genocidal faction of alien Echoes that started the war on Earth in 2069, rages on. Dani, an Echo, fights alongside humans and other aliens against the Wardens. As the bond of her newfound family strengthens, she continues to struggle to find a viable solution to retake Boston from the Wardens.

Maine’s civilian and Commonwealth military alliance against the enemy remains intact, but Dani’s relationship with Colonel Houston becomes more strained with rogue Warden attacks, unreliable intelligence reports, and the high casualty counts that will come when they move on the enemy stronghold in the city.

Rowan’s unwavering ambition to eliminate all humans from Earth, rise within Warden ranks, and capture Dani drives him to commit treason. When Dani learns that Rowan is behind an assault in Maine that wounds and kills several people on the Commonwealth base, her well-orchestrated plan against Boston is replaced with one focused only on rescue … and revenge. 


Cheryl Campbell is the award-winning author of the ‘Burnt Mountain’ fantasy series, consisting of five novels published between 2013 to 2016, as well the ‘Echoes’ Trilogy, with book one -- Echoes of War -- released in September 2019 to rave reviews from Booklist, ScienceFiction.com, Geeks of Doom, and more, and book two -- Echoes of Darkness - due for release in October 2020. She was born in Louisiana and lived there and in Mississippi prior to moving to Maine. Her varied background includes art, herpetology (the zoological study of amphibians and reptiles), emergency department and critical care nursing, and computer systems. When not nomadic, she lives in Maine. Find Cheryl on Instagram and Facebook (@cherylscreativesoup) and her website www.CherylsCreativeSoup.com Echoes of Darkness: Book Two in the Echoes Trilogy [Sonar Press] will be available in October 2020 in paperback and ebook formats wherever books are sold.

Comments

Popular Posts